Bibliography of Lessing’s work

An alphabetical list of Doris Lessing’s works in English.

A Man and Two Women. London: MacGibbon & Kee, 1963; New York: Simon & Schuster, 1963.

A Proper Marriage. London: M. Joseph, 1954. – (Children of Violence; 2).

A Retreat to Innocence. London: M. Joseph, 1956; New York: Prometheus, 1959.

A Ripple from the Storm and Landlocked. New York: Simon & Schuster, 1966.

A Ripple from the Storm. London: M. Joseph, 1958; New York: Simon & Schuster, 1966. – (Children of Violence; 3)

A Small Personal Voice: Essays, Reviews, Interviews. Edited by Paul Schlueter. London: Flamingo (HarperCollins), 1994.

African Laughter: Four Visits to Zimbabwe. London & New York: HarperCollins, 1992.

African Stories. London: M. Joseph, 1964; New York: Simon & Schuster, 1965.

Alfred & Emily. London: Fourth Estate, 2008.

Ben, in the World. London & New York: HarperCollins, 2000.

Briefing for a Descent into Hell. London: Cape, 1971; New York: Knopf, 1971.

Collected African stories. Vol. 1, This was the Old Chief’s Country. London: M. Joseph, 1973.

Collected African stories. Vol. 2, The Sun Between Their Feet. London: M. Joseph, 1973.

Conversations. Edited by Earl G. Ingersoll. Princeton, N.J.: Ontario Review Press, 1994.

Documents Relating to the Sentimental Agents in the Volyen Empire. London: Cape, 1983; New York: Knopf, 1983. – (Canopus in Argos: Archives; 5)

Five : Short Novels. London: M. Joseph, 1953.

Fourteen Poems. Northwood: Scorpion Press, 1959.

Going Home. London: M. Joseph, 1957; New York: Ballantine, 1968.

If the Old Could … London: M. Joseph, 1984; New York: Knopf, 1984.

In Pursuit of the English: a Documentary. London: MacGibbon & Kee, 1960; New York: Simon & Schuster, 1961.

Landlocked. London: MacGibbon & Kee, 1965; New York: Simon & Schuster, 1966. – (Children of Violence; 4)

Love, Again. London: Flamingo, 1996; New York: HarperCollins, 1996.

Mara and Dann: an Adventure. London & New York: HarperCollins, 1999.

Martha Quest and A Proper Marriage. New York: Simon & Schuster, 1964.

Martha Quest. London: M. Joseph, 1952. – (Children of Violence; 1)

On Cats. London: Flamingo (HarperCollins), 2002.

Particularly Cats. London: M. Joseph, 1967; New York: Simon & Schuster, 1967.

Play with a Tiger: a Play in Three Acts. London: M. Joseph, 1962.

Play with a Tiger, and Other Plays. London: Flamingo, 1996.

Playing the Game. London: HarperCollins, 1995.

Prisons We Choose to Live Inside. London: Cape, 1987; New York: Harper & Row, 1987.

Shadows on the Wall of the Cave: a talk by Doris Lessing delivered 19 January 1994. London: The British Library, 1994.

Shikasta: Re: Colonised Planet 5. London: Cape, 1979; New York: Knopf, 1979. – (Canopus in Argos: Archives; 1)

Spies I Have Known and Other Stories. Glasgow: Collins Educational, 1995.

The Black Madonna. London: Panther, 1966.

The Cleft. London: Fourth Estate (HarperCollins), 2007; New York: HarperCollins, 2007.

The Diaries of Jane Somers. London: M. Joseph, 1984; New York: Knopf, 1984.

The Diary of a Good Neighbour. London: M. Joseph, 1983; New York: Knopf, 1983.

The Fifth Child. London: Cape, 1988; New York: Knopf, 1988.

The Four-Gated City. London: MacGibbon & Kee, 1969; New York: Knopf, 1969. – (Children of Violence; 5)

The Golden Notebook. London: M. Joseph, 1962; New York: Simon & Schuster, 1962.

The Good Terrorist. London: Cape, 1985; New York: Knopf, 1985.

The Grandmothers: Four Short Novels. London: Flamingo (HarperCollins), 2003; New York: HarperCollins, 2004.

The Grass is Singing. London: M. Joseph, 1950; New York: Crowell, 1950.

The Habit of Loving. London: MacGibbon & Kee, 1957; New York: Crowell, 1958.

The Making of the Representative for Planet 8. London: Cape, 1982; New York: Knopf, 1982. – (Canopus in Argos: Archives; 4)

The Marriages Between Zones Three, Four and Five. London: Cape, 1980; New York: Knopf, 1980. – (Canopus in Argos: Archives; 2)

The Memoirs of a Survivor. London: Octagon, 1974; New York: Knopf, 1975 Stories. New York: Knopf, 1978.

The Real Thing: Stories and Sketches. Republ. as London Observed: Stories and Sketches. London: HarperCollins, 1992.

The Sirian Experiments. London: Cape, 1981; New York: Knopf, 1981. – (Canopus in Argos: Archives; 3)

The Story of a Non-Marrying Man and Other Stories. London: Cape, 1972. Republ. as The Temptation of Jack Orkney and Other Stories. New York: Knopf, 1972.

The Story of General Dann and Mara’s Daughter, Griot and the Snow Dog. London: Fourth Estate (HarperCollins), 2005; New York: HarperCollins, 2006.

The Summer Before the Dark. London: Cape, 1973; New York: Knopf, 1973.

The Sweetest Dream. London: Flamingo (HarperCollins), 2001; New York: HarperCollins, 2002.

The Temptation of Jack Orkney: Collected Stories Volume Two. London: Cape, 1978.

The Wind Blows Away Our Words. London: Picador, 1987; New York: Vintage, 1987.

This was the Old Chief’s Country. London: M. Joseph, 1951; New York: Crowell, 1952.

Time Bites: Views and Reviews. London: Fourth Estate, 2004; New York: HarperCollins, 2004.

To Room Nineteen: Collected Stories Volume One. London: Cape, 1978.

Under My Skin: Volume One of My Autobiography, to 1949. London & New York: HarperCollins, 1994.

Walking in the Shade: Volume Two of My Autobiography, 1949-1962. London & New York: HarperCollins, 1997.

Winter in July. London: Panther, 1966.